NaPoWriMo, Day 22, “I Took the Sun for a Walk” (Children’s Poem)

 

http://wallippo.com/wallpaper/sun-light-in-the-grass-09ad10d2f585d8933593b02d91855f6d

 

 

I took the sun for a walk yesterday,

Trailing behind like puppy wagging tail,

Without pull of a leash, pushed wider than biggest sail,

When I took the sun for a walk.

 

I wore my baseball cap just in case

Its smiling rays beamed too bright for my face,

Its warm long arms wrapping me in big embrace,

When I took the moon for a walk.

 

We leaped out of stroller and into the dirt

Where big rocks and small acorns under feet did hurt,

Where fast squirrels scurry and hopping birds skirt,

When I took the sun for a walk.

 

I asked the sun to come down a bit lower,

To play hide and seek with me and little brother,

Darting and dancing between trees

whose new green leaves made a spring day choir,

When I took the sun for a walk.

 

We raced for the ladders to reach the top of tall curvy slides,

And imagined the sun had asked us to glide

Down its beams of bright to bottom of sunshine ride,

When I took the sun for a walk.

 

We drizzled laughs across the morning grass,

Tracing dewy long faces with our wet hands,

Blowing wishes on flowers across greening lands,

When I took the sun for a walk.

 

Then as we turned back, the sun kept us in light,

It followed us home, sitting home in windows bright,

And I thanked it for staying, for not taking flight,

When I took the sun for a walk.

 

Based on “I Took the Moon for a Walk” by Carolyn Curtis and Alison Jay

 

Please share your responses, reactions and ideas in the space provided below. Thanks so much.

