tmy_chronicles

Eclectic Explorations of Educational and Experiential Frontiers Through Writing

NaPoWriMo, Day 25, “He is/and/They Show” (An Anaphora for Mothers)

Daddy and the Boys

 

He is my first born, with steady eyes, aiming, armed with piercing interrogations

He is my second born, unafraid face that mimics every memory my face confesses

He is my husband, committed in breath and body, so that the family might not know demise

He is the toddler whose hands labor puzzles, embraces deliberation whether pieces could fit differently

He is the other toddler, the willful wanderer using legs to propel across and upward

He is my delivery, the psalmist daily purging day from ever-bending spine

He is a branch, brave in growing its twigs that are learning to generate answers in leaves

He is a tuning fork, whose mumbles and gasps confirm a mouth willing to gift words

He is a partner, weaving woe and wonder into incense to burn and fragrance our parenting

He is my study, whom as mother I wonder have I best daily fed.

He is my study, whom as mother I wonder have I best daily fed.

He is my study, whom as wife I wonder have I best daily fed.

 

This home work braids me/into trinity/woman/mother/wife.

 

They show in clasping hands trust in their first steps.

The show in collapsing bodies my breasts are both pillows and night sky.

They show quivering collarbones and crying tears find solace when cupping them inside my arms.

They show by asking for advice they know my heart is bread.

They show and tell through confessions within the hollow of shoulder “You are my very best friend.”

They show relying on hands to write first letters a release into new fellowship.

They show in giggles and struts wanting to learn how to hold conversations with the world.

They show in constant journey to margin and return to center my love is a reliable compass.

They show me in openness and wilderness I am everything, and nothing, without them.

 

king of the world

 

3 comments on “NaPoWriMo, Day 25, “He is/and/They Show” (An Anaphora for Mothers)

  1. motherbethel
    April 26, 2014

    Love this. Beautiful children.

  2. velveteenrabbi
    April 26, 2014

    This is beautiful. I especially love “He is my delivery, the psalmist daily purging day from ever-bending spine” – wow.

Please share your responses, reactions and ideas in the space provided below. Thanks so much.

Information

This entry was posted on April 26, 2014 by in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 414 other followers

Email at tmy.chronicles@gmail.com

Follow tmy_chronicles on WordPress.com
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 414 other followers

