tmy_chronicles

Eclectic Explorations of Educational and Experiential Frontiers Through Writing

Fellowship at 2012 NYC Fashion Week: Sisters Celebrating Sisters

2012 NYC Fashion Week, Sarahi Showcase

Traditionally, NYC Fashion Week impressed me as an exclusive event.  The crème de la crème reveal and show off their dernier cri and totemic textiles. A-listers are awash in worship from photographic flashes.  The illuminati offer praises like flowers at feet of fellow elite.  Those of us who have no anchor in the sea of high fashion will rely on the reports of the select few broadcasts allowed harbor and entrance.  Somehow this particular Thursday night the stars aligned, because I was given access to such a coveted event. What I would encounter was far from the images and assumption I initially endorsed.

At first, I felt as though I was “crashing” a selective soiree.  Working in education, and now a stay at home mother expecting my second child, such pathways rarely make for opportune interceptions with the chic.  It seemed irregular, unlikely, to sit alongside “those” who regularly lined the esteemed runways.    I wasn’t a blip on the elite radar of the houses of Monique Lhuillier, Michael Kors or Ralph Lauren, so being a guest would be out of the question, or even the assistant of esteemed stylists like Rachel Zoe.  Benevolently, my ticket came from the heart of a sister editor-in-chief, Shawn Chavis, whose gratitude to her staff and writers at Bronze Magazine gave us entre into this grand world, landing us at the premiere Sarahi showcase at RSVP, which her magazine was sponsoring.

I didn’t go to be seen, temporarily immortalized in this week’s tabloids and newspapers.  Attending for me was an honor, as I would meet fellow women writers, affix flesh and blood to online personality, whose fellowship was garnered mostly online due to our remote locations.  Working as a contributing writing and copy editor, Shawn has given me unwonted space to transition from working as teacher, professor and consultant to fulfill my aspiration of freelance writing.  Emelyn Stuart and I had been corresponding on Facebook in anticipation of our initial meeting; first reading about her in a previous issue of Bronze Magazine, her humor and receptive spirit made me excited to meet her. And others I would meet would become for me tour guides of dreams, unexpected touchstones of inner pain and the strength, courage, and wisdom that emanate from them.

I arrived early to RSVP, erring on the side of caution give my long commute by public transportation. I landed midst the hum of tuxedoed wait staff priming final touches and hoisting the poster of sponsors, greeters coordinating guest lists, and models practicing their many faces and stances.   Photographers, writers, and support staff buzzed away in preparatory tasks. The hive was hopping. Yet in the mix I felt welcomed, as people scooting by me made time to pause, smile, and even say hello. They provided a welcoming atmosphere I was not expecting.

By chance one such smile came from VJ Ameliaismore, a local celebrity. Instantly we started talking. She became a guide for me that evening, not just for that event but as an example of someone diligently on a mission and living to fulfill a dream. Like a big sister to little sister, she shared her life history and work, funny stories about being the single mom of a son, and a short retrospective on her life as a teacher, model, and business woman. It was her intimate sharing against the backdrop of the busyness and buzz that powered the pondering of my own dreams, and hollowing a space to wish her dreams their deserved flight and height.  Quickly disappearing backstage, she pointed me to where Shawn was.  I embarked to meet my colleague and mentor.

I recognized Shawn as soon as I saw her. Her spirit casts an aura of welcome and receptivity, even while standing still in the chaos of patrons indulging the open bar and cocktail hour (alas, how I craved sampling the sushi and steak tartare).   She shared her gratitude for the work I’ve done, particularly for last-minute copy editing. Here I was meeting the fountainhead of an inspirational magazine thanking ME. It was wondrous and wonderful to finally meet her, feeling far more like homecoming.  Her grace and warmth were contagious, enveloping me, like dwelling in the company of a dear friend.

Me and Shawn Chavis, Editor-in-Chief, Bronze Magazine

Standing right next to her was Emelyn Stuart.  I recognized her by the cool confidence she exudes, and in the striped dress (inside joke).  Media magnate and prolific film producer, her repertoire and resume remained quiet within her.  She didn’t greet me with her resume or reputation. She doesn’t bring them into our conversation at all. Instead, she bestows an authentic invitation to learn about one another.  In fact, she asks ME questions that have me since thinking about where and how I want to direct my future endeavors in writing.  She offered advice on how to gain sponsorship for my blog to build its readership and reputation. Being around her was like being released to explore and dig deeper into one’s dreams, and I found myself rattling off all that I wanted to be and become in this new chapter of my career and life.  She offered her phone number and suggested we keep in touch.

Even more than what I learned from the outpour of sisters like Shawn and Emelyn is learning what we can offer others.  Before the start of the show, acclaimed model and business woman Njie Sabik informed us of the silent auction going on as well, with proceeds going to two charitable organizations.  She bravely shared that one was created in tribute to her mother; the designer, Suzette Kelly, earlier informed us Njie just buried her mother days before the show.  Such character to remain committed to participating in the show and disclosing such a personal tragedy marks Njie as evidence of resilience.  After the show, she was swept away for a barrage of photos. Between the flashes I snuck in to share with her how I was moved by her celebration of her mother. I told how I too lost my mother to cancer (AML), and offered for inspiration that eventually better days do come. I relayed my admiration of how brave she was to disclose what she did, staying committed to the show, and that I believed her mother would be proud of her for her endeavors.  Njie embraced me in a long understanding hug. It felt fulfilling to know that even in sorrow there is the root of kinship, and that even as strangers we can each be healing balm for one another.  Not to mention her power on a runway. She rips it with methodical presentation and presence. She owns a room when she enters, and leaves it mesmerized when she exits.

Njie Sabik at 2012 NYC Fashion Week

Njie Sabik at 2012 NYC Fashion Week

The House of Sarahi definitely lit up the night.  Yet this night proved more to be a walk through the power and potential of sisterhood than retinal reverie.  Amelia, Shawn, Emelyn and Njie irradiated my soul. I returned home, and in high heels and red swing dress, resumed the maternal work of feeding my son and rocking him to sleep. Out of sheer gratitude I thanked my husband who worked from home that day for this once in a lifetime opportunity.

Back to work . . .inspired.

Suzette Kelly (far left), designer of Sarahi, with models

3 comments on “Fellowship at 2012 NYC Fashion Week: Sisters Celebrating Sisters

  1. Ameliaismore
    July 25, 2013

    Thank you so much for those kind words. I enjoyed meeting you as well. Never did see any of the footage from the red carpet but it’s all good. We should link up sometime! By the way what did you have boy or girl? $mile Continued success and check out some of my stories on Bronze Magazine or Floss Magazine or check out my volg on youtube.com/allinadaywamelia. PEACE!

  2. Deanna F.
    September 23, 2012

    Great article and like you said, fabulous people!!
    Deanna (D’talia)

    • tmy_chronicles
      September 24, 2012

      THANK YOU SO MUCH DEANNA for taking the time to read the blogpost. It was a really great night, one I will not soon forget.

Please share your responses, reactions and ideas in the space provided below. Thanks so much.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 454 other followers

